Kaka, Rokker Romany (Paperback) By Michael Harmer

Kaka, Rokker Romany (Paperback) By Michael Harmer

£9.95

Mike Harmer's collection of anecdotes and recollections of a Norfolk Romany provide a unique perspective on a vanishing way of life.

Read more

In stock

Enjoy same day Click & Collect to our Norwich stores or 2 working days to Jarrold Cromer or Jarrold Wymondham on orders received by 14:00 (Mon-Sat) Read More

We offer a gift wrapping service on most items online - Look for the option in the checkout . Read More

Kaka, Rokker Romany (Paperback) By Michael Harmer

Mike Harmer's collection of anecdotes and recollections of a Norfolk Romany provide a unique perspective on a vanishing way of life.

The son of a North Walsham horse trader and of proud Romany stock, Mike has lived his life by his wits: an honest man, yet a wheeler and a dealer, a ducker and a diver. Storytelling is in his blood and in Kaka, Rokker Romany: Tales from a North-Norfolk Romany life he has delivered a memoir of his dealings and his history with a cornucopia of characters: volatile relatives, ne'er-do-wells, swindlers, oddballs, bigamists, thieves and fools.

Largely self-taught and a voracious reader, Mike has a thirst for knowledge and is immersed in local folk and Romany history. His countless dealings have brought him into contact with all that society has to offer: from lords to loners and with each encounter he walks away with a bargain and a story safely stowed for future telling. Driving around the backroads of Norfolk with Mike you find that each byway, each dwelling has a story attached - where most would see a barren field, Mike sees a landscape populated with human interaction.

His Romany heritage is at the core of his being. The outsider status it confers has given him both his canniness and his companionability. He is justifiably proud of it and keen to share his knowledge of the language, the old ways and the old tales. He writes in the tradition of George Baldry, Fred Rolfe and George Borrow - it is a folk tradition and he has given us a book worthy of his forebears - not one necessarily to be read from start to finish, but rather to be dipped into: the nuggets drawn out and savoured one by one.

There are not so many like him left - he is a Norfolk legend and the authentic voice of an oral tradition.

ISBN: 9781838531331

Delivery

We aim to dispatch all items which are in stock on the same working day when orders are received by 2PM. Orders are sent with either Royal Mail or Parcelforce. Parcelforce normally offer a one hour delivery window via SMS or Email.

Our Delivery Charges
England, Wales & Southern Scotland
Orders under £50 £3.50 Usually within 2-5 days
Orders over £50 FREE Usually within 2-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery* £6.00 Select your day, on orders placed before 14:00

Click & Collect

Furniture

FREE

FREE

Same day at our Norwich stores on orders placed before 14:00

Expected within 5 weeks

Scottish Highlands, Channel Islands and Northern Ireland View postcodes in this bracket
All orders £5.00 Usually within 2-5 days

Nominated day or Saturday delivery

Furniture

N/A

N/A

Unavailable to these postcodes
Overseas (any non-UK address)
At present we do not deliver overseas.
Gift Cards, Book Tokens and Event Tickets
  • £1.95

Furniture

Small and flat packed items will be sent via Parcelforce, Direct Distribution or via our delivery vans. 

 

 

Large items will be sent by our specialist 2 man delivery partners. The delivery company will contact you within 7 days to organise delivery of your items. The delivery service includes an E-mail, SMS or call to advise a date and a 4 hour time slot for delivery. Crews will call 30 minutes prior to delivery and deliver to a room of choice, unpack and take away packaging. If you require assembly of your items then this can be arranged for an additional charge and you will need to speak to our team to arrange this.

 

 

Please read our furniture Terms and Conditions here before you order.

 

 

Delivery times:

  • Orders in Norfolk and Suffolk will be approx 2-3 weeks
  • Orders to the rest of the UK will approx 3-5 weeks
  • We cannot deliver furniture to Northern Ireland Island, Scottish Islands and Channel Islands

For more details on delivery please click here.

Standard Returns Policy

Please note that these terms apply to products purchased through our website only.

You may cancel your order for any reason at any time prior to dispatch and make returns up to 30 days after receipt of your goods.

You have the right to cancel this contract within 14 days without giving any reason.  To cancel your order prior to dispatch please telephone the Internet Order Help Desk on 01603 697150 or e-mail enquiries@jarrold.co.uk. Click here for our cancellation policy

Refunds

Refunds will be against the card used to make the original payment following inspection of the returned goods, normally with in 7 working days. Return documentation is included with the goods when dispatched to you.

We recommend that a verifiable method of return delivery is used, as proof of posting cannot be taken as proof of receipt.

Please see our Returns Policy for items which are exempt from the right to cancel

If goods are not returned and received by us in perfect condition we reserve the right to withhold or refuse any refund, pending enquiry, and/or make only a part refund

Returning Furniture

Please be aware that furniture purchased in store at Jarrold is exempt from the above terms. 
Please contact a member of our Furniture team on 01603 697258 who will be pleased to explain the terms and conditions of furniture purchases.

Returns Postage Responsibility

Please note that unless your item is faulty, or delivered in error, you are responsible for the cost of the postage back to us. This is in accordance with the Distance Selling Regulations

Please click here to see products which are exempt from the right to cancel

Kaka, Rokker Romany (Paperback) By Michael Harmer
Kaka, Rokker Romany (Paperback) By Michael Harmer
1 x £125.00
Subtotal
Back to top