Ask the book buyer: The East Anglian Book Awards 2017


This November it's the East Anglian Book Awards, so to whet your appetite here's my selection of three of the overall award winners from previous years, says book buyer Chris Rushby.

Along with our partners at Writers Centre Norwich and the Eastern Daily Press, in association with the UEA, this is the tenth year of Jarrolds’ involvement in organising the East Anglian Book Awards. The awards highlight the best of writing and publishing in the region. In 2017 we will once again be offering a top prize of £1,000 to the overall East Anglian Book of the Year, courtesy of PACCAR Foundation.

The six main award categories are fiction, poetry, biography, children’s books, history & tradition and general non-fiction. This year also sees the return of our award for lifetime achievement in local publishing, as well as a book cover design award sponsored by the East Anglian Writers group.

Previous awards ceremonies have always been evening events. This year we decided to change the format into something much closer to that of the perhaps more familiar Jarrold literary lunch and you’ll be very welcome to join us at Norwich City’s football ground on Friday 24 November for a fine meal, a host of authors and of course the glittering prize announcements. 


To whet your appetite for this year’s awards here’s my selection of three of the overall award winners from previous years:

After Me Comes The Flood

Sarah Perry


Winner in 2014

Sarah Perry is a brilliant Norwich-based writer whose reputation has since been secured by the wonderful and prize-winning The Essex Serpent. When her first novel was published, though, Sarah was relatively unknown and the EABA judges might be allowed to feel just a hint of smugness for recognising such a talented author before the rest of the world caught up.   


The Last Hunters: The Crab Fishermen of Cromer

Candy Whittome and David Morris


Winner in 2012

Whittome’s words, along with Morris’s evocative images, record a portrait of one of the last surviving fishing communities in Britain, telling the stories of the Cromer crab fishermen and their families in their own words. This is a compelling account of a fragile community, celebrating a way of living in tune with the environment, reliant on skill, resilience and exceptional will. The high production values of the book are the work of Full Circle, one of the region’s own fine publishing enterprises.

Masterpieces – Art and East Anglia

Ian Collins


Winner in 2013

The autumn 2013 Masterpieces exhibition at the Sainsbury Centre brought together an unprecedented collection of artistic and cultural riches connected with the region. This fine book was the exhibition catalogue, compiled by the exhibition’s curator, but manages to stand alone as a compelling record of those art treasures gathered for the occasion. Anyone who attended the exhibition and leafing through the book now is likely to have a nostalgic pang for one of the most brilliant regional cultural events of the past few years.    


The East Anglian Book Awards takes place on Friday 24 November, 11.30am for 12 midday until 4pm, at the Top of the Terrace, Norwich City Football Club. 


For tickets and more information click here

Back to top