East Anglian Book Awards 2019

The search is on for the best books from the East of England

Now in their twelfth year, the East Anglian Book Awards celebrate the outstanding literary culture of our region by recognising the books and writers who have been shaped by, and have helped to shape, the culture of the East of England.

Since the awards began they have highlighted the work of almost 150 authors, 190 titles and more than 90 publishers. Previous winner Sarah Perry went on to win the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and became a Waterstones Book of the Year.

The award partners are the Norwich-based National Centre for Writing, the University of East Anglia, Jarrold and the Eastern Daily Press. They are supported by the PACCAR Foundation.

To enter and for entry guidelines, please visit: https://nationalcentreforwriting.org.uk/east-anglian-book-awards/

For the purposes of the Awards, East Anglia is defined as Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, and the area of the Fens. The deadline for entries is noon on Friday 26 July 2019.

For full details and terms and conditions, please visit the National Centre for Writing website nationalcentreforwriting.org.uk

Chris Gribble, CEO of the National Centre for Writing, said:

For the past eleven years, the East Anglian Book Awards have allowed us to celebrate and share our region's rich literary output. We know that in this, the twelfth year of the Awards, we're going to discover, read and enjoy the some outstanding new books from and about East Anglia and we can't wait to receive the entries.

Professor Sarah Barrow, Pro Vice Chancellor of Arts & Humanities at UEA, said:

We are delighted to support this year's East Anglian Book Awards. We're committed to supporting the work of all regionally-based artists and are very pleased to have the opportunity to work with partners on this celebration of literary culture across East Anglia. We wish all the entrants the very best of luck.

Entries are open for six categories: Fiction, Poetry, General Non-Fiction, History & Tradition, Biography & Memoir and The Mal Peet Children's Award. The prize for the overall Book of the year is £1000, courtesy of the PACCAR Foundation.

Caroline Jarrold said:

Having been involved with the East Anglian Book Awards from the start, I'm really looking forward to seeing this year's nominations. I am always amazed at the range and quality of the submissions and am already aware of some great books which will be eligible for this year's awards. I'm sure that I won't be disappointed.

Back to top