Under a Wartime Sky By Liz Trenow (Paperback)

Under a Wartime Sky By Liz Trenow (Paperback)

£7.99

A gripping and emotional historical novel filled with secrets and drama, set during the Second World War.

Read more

In stock

Enjoy fast and free Click & Collect to our Norwich, Cromer or Wymondham stores READ MORE

We are currently unable to offer gift boxing.

A gripping and emotional historical novel filled with secrets and drama, set during the Second World War.

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it's perfect for readers of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to 'do her bit'. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night . . .

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

Praise for Liz Trenow:
'The characters shine . . . Fabulous' - Dinah Jefferies
'It was a wrench to put the book down after the last beautifully written page' - Gill Paul
'Trenow's exquisite novel puts a real focus on the characters' journeys' - Woman

About the Author

Liz Trenow is the author of several historical novels, including The Poppy Factory, The Silk Weaver, In Love and War and The Dressmaker of Draper's Lane. Liz is a former journalist who spent fifteen years at regional and national newspapers, and BBC radio and television news, before turning her hand to fiction. She lives in East Anglia with her artist husband, and they have two grown-up daughters.
Contributor:
Liz Trenow
Imprint:
Pan Books
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Release Date:
20 Feb 2020
Number of Pages:
416
Binding:
Paperback / softback
ISBN13:
9781509879847

We aim to dispatch all items which are in stock on the same working day when orders are received by 14:00. Orders are sent with either Royal Mail, Parcelforce or Hermes. Parcelforce normally offer a one hour delivery window via SMS or Email.

 

Delivery Charges for items sold by Jarrold

England, Wales & Southern Scotland    
Orders under £50
£3.50 Usually within 3-5 days
Orders over £50 FREE Usually within 3-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery* £6.00 Select your day, on orders placed before 14:00
Click & Collect FREE Usually within 3-5 days
Furniture - Norfolk & Suffolk FREE See product page for delivery estimate
Furniture - Nationwide £79 See product page for delivery estimate
Jarrold Store Folk items See product page for delivery cost and estimate
     

Scottish Highlands, Channel Islands and Northern Ireland
VIEW POSTCODES IN THIS BRACKET
   
All orders £5.00 Usually within 2-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
Furniture N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
     
Overseas (any non-UK address)    
At present we do not deliver overseas.    

 

Furniture

Please use our postcode calculator on the product page to find out postage charges for the item. If there is no postcode calculator, the item follows our standard delivery tariffs.

For more details on delivery please click here.

 

Delivery Charges for items sold by Jarrold Store Folk partners

Please see the information box under the product name and price for delivery prices and times.

Please note that these terms apply to products purchased through our website only.

You may cancel your order for any reason at any time prior to dispatch and make returns up to 30 days after receipt of your goods.

You have the right to cancel this contract within 14 days without giving any reason.  To cancel your order prior to dispatch please telephone the Internet Order Help Desk on 01603 697150 or e-mail enquiries@jarrold.co.uk. Click here for our cancellation policy

Refunds

Refunds will be against the card used to make the original payment following inspection of the returned goods, normally with in 7 working days. Return documentation is included with the goods when dispatched to you.

We recommend that a verifiable method of return delivery is used, as proof of posting cannot be taken as proof of receipt.

Please see our Returns Policy for items which are exempt from the right to cancel

If goods are not returned and received by us in perfect condition we reserve the right to withhold or refuse any refund, pending enquiry, and/or make only a part refund

Returning Furniture

Please be aware that furniture purchased in store at Jarrold is exempt from the above terms. 
Please contact a member of our Furniture team on 01603 697258 who will be pleased to explain the terms and conditions of furniture purchases.

Returns Postage Responsibility

Please note that unless your item is faulty, or delivered in error, you are responsible for the cost of the postage back to us. This is in accordance with the Distance Selling Regulations

Please click here to see products which are exempt from the right to cancel

Under a Wartime Sky By Liz Trenow (Paperback)
Under a Wartime Sky By Liz Trenow (Paperback)
1 x £125.00
Subtotal
Back to top