Tombland By C. J. Sansom (Paperback)

Tombland By C. J. Sansom (Paperback)

£9.99

Number one bestselling author C. J. Sansom heads to Norwich, as Shardlake embarks upon a new investigation . . .

Read more

In stock

Enjoy fast and free Click & Collect to our Norwich, Cromer or Wymondham stores READ MORE

We are currently unable to offer gift wrapping.

Number one bestselling author C. J. Sansom heads to Norwich, as Shardlake embarks upon a new investigation . . .

Tudor England is brought vividly to life in Tombland, the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.



'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times
'Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time' - Andrew Taylor, Spectator

The Sunday Times Number One Bestseller

England, 1549: Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos . . .

The nominal king, Edward VI, is eleven years old. His uncle Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset, rules as Protector. The extirpation of the old religion by radical Protestants is stirring discontent among the populace while the Protector's prolonged war with Scotland is proving a disastrous failure and threatens to involve France. Worst of all, the economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry.

Since the old King's death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's younger daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn, the wife of John Boleyn - a distant Norfolk relation of Elizabeth's mother - which could have political implications for Elizabeth, brings Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer assizes at Norwich. There they are reunited with Shardlake's former assistant Jack Barak. The three find layers of mystery and danger surrounding Edith's death, as a second murder is committed.

And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and establishing a vast camp outside Norwich. Soon the rebels have taken over the city, England's second largest.

Barak throws in his lot with the rebels; Nicholas, opposed to them, becomes a prisoner in Norwich Castle; while Shardlake has to decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the rebel camp and of the Norfolk gentry . . .

This is the seventh stunning novel in the bestselling Shardlake series, that began with Dissolution. Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Kett's Rebellion.

About the Author

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a PhD in history. After working in a variety of jobs, he retrained as a solicitor and practised in Sussex until becoming a full-time writer. Sansom is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Shardlake series, as well as Winter in Madrid and Dominion. He lives in Sussex.
Contributor:
C. J. Sansom
Imprint:
Pan Books
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Release Date:
19 Sep 2019
Number of Pages:
880
Binding:
Paperback / softback
ISBN13:
9781447284512

Delivery


Click & Collect Temporarily Unavailable

Please note that we have temporarily suspended our Click & Collect services. If you have an order to collect then you are still welcome to do so from our Doorstep Collection point on Bedford Street (opposite The Granary)

The Jarrold Online Team


Our online business is still open and we thank you for your continuing support.

We are still working towards shipping your orders within 48 hours of receiving them. However due to unprecedent demand, please allow up to 72 hours for despatch. We are also continuing to deliver across the UK but please note that there may be delays at certain times.  Please see our delivery service update page to check your area.

If you have chosen our Nominated Delivery Service, your order will be sent for delivery on your chosen day.

Thank you for choosing to shop with us and for your patience.

The Jarrold Online Team


We aim to dispatch all items which are in stock on the same working day when orders are received by 13:30. Orders are sent with either Royal Mail, Parcelforce or Hermes. Parcelforce normally offer a one hour delivery window via SMS or Email.

 

 Our Delivery Charges

England, Wales & Southern Scotland                          

Orders under £50

£3.50

Usually within 2-5 days
Orders over £50 FREE Usually within 2-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery £6.00 Select your day, on orders placed before 13:30
Click & Collect FREE TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE
Furniture N/A Expected within 5 weeks
     
Scottish Highlands, Channel Islands and Northern Ireland
VIEW POSTCODES IN THIS BRACKET
   

All orders

£5.00

Usually within 2-5 days

Nominated day or Saturday delivery

N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
Furniture N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
     
Overseas (any non-UK address)    
At present we do not deliver overseas.    
  

Furniture

Small and flat packed items will be sent via Parcelforce, Direct Distribution or via our delivery vans. 

 

Due to current COVID-19 restrictions deliveries will be made to the doorstep, garage or outbuilding.

 P

lease read our furniture Terms and Conditions here before you order.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Delivery times:

  • Orders in Norfolk and Suffolk will be approx 2-3 weeks
  • Orders to the rest of the UK will approx 3-5 weeks
  • We cannot deliver furniture to Northern Ireland Island, Scottish Islands and Channel Islands

For more details on delivery please click here.

Standard Returns Policy

Please note that these terms apply to products purchased through our website only.

You may cancel your order for any reason at any time prior to dispatch and make returns up to 30 days after receipt of your goods.

You have the right to cancel this contract within 14 days without giving any reason.  To cancel your order prior to dispatch please telephone the Internet Order Help Desk on 01603 697150 or e-mail enquiries@jarrold.co.uk. Click here for our cancellation policy

Refunds

Refunds will be against the card used to make the original payment following inspection of the returned goods, normally with in 7 working days. Return documentation is included with the goods when dispatched to you.

We recommend that a verifiable method of return delivery is used, as proof of posting cannot be taken as proof of receipt.

Please see our Returns Policy for items which are exempt from the right to cancel

If goods are not returned and received by us in perfect condition we reserve the right to withhold or refuse any refund, pending enquiry, and/or make only a part refund

Returning Furniture

Please be aware that furniture purchased in store at Jarrold is exempt from the above terms. 
Please contact a member of our Furniture team on 01603 697258 who will be pleased to explain the terms and conditions of furniture purchases.

Returns Postage Responsibility

Please note that unless your item is faulty, or delivered in error, you are responsible for the cost of the postage back to us. This is in accordance with the Distance Selling Regulations

Please click here to see products which are exempt from the right to cancel

Tombland By C. J. Sansom (Paperback)
Tombland By C. J. Sansom (Paperback)
1 x £125.00
Subtotal
Back to top