The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback) - Joseph Elliott

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback) - Joseph Elliott

£7.99

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars , Garth Nix and Michelle Paver. As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime. "A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian "A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times "A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior " A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll "A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad "I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder "Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder " A s ublimely plotted, windswept adventure ." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth " This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In "One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside "A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX "A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust "Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus "The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness." The Irish Times

Read more

In stock

Want it on Tuesday, 27th July? Place your order within 17 hrs 53 mins and select Nominated Delivery at the checkout.

Enjoy fast and free Click & Collect to our Norwich, Cromer or Wymondham stores READ MORE

We are currently unable to offer gift boxing.

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

"A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

"A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

"A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

"A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

"A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

"I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

"
A s
ublimely plotted, windswept adventure." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

"This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

"One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

"A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

"A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

"Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

"The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness."
The Irish Times

About the Author

Joseph Elliott is a writer and actor, well-known for his work in children's television including CBeebies series "Swashbuckle". His commitment to serving children with special education needs was instilled at a young age: his mother is a teacher trained in special needs education, and his parents provided respite foster care for children with additional needs. He has worked at a recreational center for children with learning disabilities and as a teaching assistant at Westminster Special Schools. The heroine of his first book, The Good Hawk, was inspired by the many incredible children he has worked with, especially those with Down's syndrome. Joseph lives in London. Say hello to Joseph on Twitter: @joseph_elliott.
Contributors:
Joseph Elliott, Levente Szabo
Imprint:
Walker Books Ltd
Publisher:
Walker Books Ltd
Release Date:
06 Feb 2020
Number of Pages:
368
Binding:
Paperback / softback
ISBN13:
9781406385854

We aim to dispatch all items which are in stock on the same working day when orders are received by 14:00. Orders are sent with either Royal Mail, Parcelforce or Hermes. Parcelforce normally offer a one hour delivery window via SMS or Email.

 

 Our Delivery Charges

England, Wales & Southern Scotland    
Orders under £50
£3.50 Usually within 3-5 days
Orders over £50 FREE Usually within 3-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery* £6.00 Select your day, on orders placed before 14:00
Click & Collect FREE Usually within 3-5 days
Furniture - Norfolk & Suffolk FREE See product page for delivery estimate
Furniture - Nationwide £79 See product page for delivery estimate
     

Scottish Highlands, Channel Islands and Northern Ireland
VIEW POSTCODES IN THIS BRACKET
   
All orders £5.00 Usually within 2-5 days
Nominated day or Saturday delivery N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
Furniture N/A Unavailable to these postcodes
     
Overseas (any non-UK address)    
At present we do not deliver overseas.    

 

Furniture

Please use our postcode calculator on the product page to find out postage charges for the item. If there is no postcode calculator, the item follows our standard delivery tariffs.

For more details on delivery please click here.

Please note that these terms apply to products purchased through our website only.

You may cancel your order for any reason at any time prior to dispatch and make returns up to 30 days after receipt of your goods.

You have the right to cancel this contract within 14 days without giving any reason.  To cancel your order prior to dispatch please telephone the Internet Order Help Desk on 01603 697150 or e-mail enquiries@jarrold.co.uk. Click here for our cancellation policy

Refunds

Refunds will be against the card used to make the original payment following inspection of the returned goods, normally with in 7 working days. Return documentation is included with the goods when dispatched to you.

We recommend that a verifiable method of return delivery is used, as proof of posting cannot be taken as proof of receipt.

Please see our Returns Policy for items which are exempt from the right to cancel

If goods are not returned and received by us in perfect condition we reserve the right to withhold or refuse any refund, pending enquiry, and/or make only a part refund

Returning Furniture

Please be aware that furniture purchased in store at Jarrold is exempt from the above terms. 
Please contact a member of our Furniture team on 01603 697258 who will be pleased to explain the terms and conditions of furniture purchases.

Returns Postage Responsibility

Please note that unless your item is faulty, or delivered in error, you are responsible for the cost of the postage back to us. This is in accordance with the Distance Selling Regulations

Please click here to see products which are exempt from the right to cancel

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback) - Joseph Elliott
The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One) (Paperback) - Joseph Elliott
1 x £125.00
Subtotal
Back to top